Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Stages of grief

1. Denial and Isolation

"It is a normal reaction to rationalize overwhelming emotions. It is a defense mechanism that buffers the immediate shock. We block out the words and hide from the facts. This is a temporary response that carries us through the first wave of pain." (PsychCentral.com)

Once we get Tyson back, everything will fall into place.

Fire Woodson and bring in Van Gundy. We were the two-seed last year!!!

2. Anger

"As the masking effects of denial and isolation begin to wear, reality and its pain re-emerge. We are not ready. The intense emotion is deflected from our vulnerable core, redirected and expressed instead as anger." (PsychCentral.com)


3. Bargaining

"The normal reaction to feelings of helplessness and vulnerability is often a need to regain control. Secretly, we may make a deal with God or our higher power in an attempt to postpone the inevitable." (PsychCentral.com)

The trade deadline... if we can get a quality point guard... Rondo... ok, Lowry...

Fuck it, blow it up. Trade Melo, trade Shump, fire Woodson. Get draft picks. We need picks, they'll fix everything. Let's rebuild.

4. Depression

"Two types of depression are associated with mourning. The first one is a reaction to practical implications relating to the loss. Sadness and regret predominate this type of depression. We worry that, in our grief, we have spent less time with others that depend on us. This phase may be eased by simple clarification and reassurance. We may need a bit of helpful cooperation and a few kind words. The second type of depression is more subtle and, in a sense, perhaps more private. It is our quiet preparation to separate and to bid our loved one farewell. Sometimes all we really need is a hug.(PsychCentral.com)

Is this the worst team ever?

5. Acceptance

"Reaching this stage of mourning is a gift not afforded to everyone." (PsychCentral.com)

The Knicks are never going to be good.

No comments:

Post a Comment